Institution saved to your shortlist.
The contents of this page has expired. You may have arrived here from an outdated link.

University of Helsinki

  • 103 THE World University Rankings 2014-2015
  • 67 QS World University Rankings 2014
  • 100 THE World University Rankings 2013-2014
  • 69 QS World University Rankings 2013
  • 96 QS World University Rankings 2015
  • 76 THE World University Rankings 2015-2016
  • 102 QS World University Rankings 2018
Campus setting Information not available
Living cost Information not available
Student population Information not available
International students Information not available
Institution type Public

About University of Helsinki

The University of Helsinki is a university located in Helsinki, Finland. It is the oldest and largest university in Finland with the widest range of disciplines available. Around 35,000 students are currently enrolled in the degree programs of the university spread across 11 faculties and 11 research institutes.

As of August 1, 2005, the University complies with the standards of the Europe-wide Bologna Process and offers Bachelor, Master, Licenciate, and Doctoral degrees. Admission to degree programmes is usually determined by entrance examinations, in the case of bachelor degrees, and by prior degree results, in the case of master and postgraduate degrees. Entrance is particularly selective (circa 15% of the yearly applicants are admitted). It has been ranked a top 100 university in the world according to the 2011 QS, Times Higher Education and the Academic Rankings of World Universities.

The university is bilingual, with teaching provided both in Finnish and Swedish. Teaching in English is extensive throughout the university at Master, Licentiate, and Doctoral levels, making it a de facto third language of instruction.

Campus information

The University of Helsinki is located on four main campuses. Originally, the entire university was located in the very centre of Helsinki, but new campuses and buildings have been built and acquired in other locations due to the rapid growth of the university since the 1930s.

The four campuses are:

  1. City Centre Campus (houses the Faculties of Theology, Law, Arts, Behavioural Sciences and Social Sciences)
  2. Kumpula Campus (Faculty of Science)
  3. Meilahti Campus (Faculty of Medicine)
  4. Viikki Campus (houses the Faculties of Agriculture and Forestry, Biosciences, Veterinary Medicine and Pharmacy

Location of the four campuses:

  • The City Centre Campus has a central location and reflects the architectural style of this part of the city.
  • The Kumpula Campus, housing the Faculty of Science, is located four kilometers north from the centre of Helsinki near tram lines 6 and 8.
  • The Meilahti Campus, with the Faculty of Medicine, is a part of the Meilahti Hospital District on the edge of the city centre. There are several hospitals nearby the campus.
  • The Viikki Campus is located in the rapidly developing, semi-suburban greenspace of the Viikki area, some 8 kilometres north-east of the city centre


University of Helsinki offers many types of Housing:

  • Housing for master degree students
  • Housing for exchange students
  • Short-term housing
  • Student Union Apartments


Courses available 10


Reviews 0

No one has written a review yet.
Be the first one!

Share this